Happy Birthday, Spider Monkey!

There are things that I do that I look back and think, “wow, that was awesome but sooo embarrassing that I probably shouldn’t tell anyone else- they won’t understand.” I have that feeling very strongly right now but I am going to go against my better judgement and tell you about my birthday. Because it was awesome…and now in retrospect slightly embarrassing…but still awesome. Let me start by saying that my birthday is strategically placed in the calendar so near Jesus’ birthday that He usually gets all the attention. My friends are always out of town, the only decorations in the store are red and green, etc etc. Luckily, I have a wonderful family who make my December 23 birthday not suck at all. We always have a separate party and my presents are always wrapped in birthday paper. Many years ago, we also started a tradition that my birthday would have a theme. Mostly because it takes a lot to distract from all the Christmas and it was just something we did for fun. I have had Dora the Explorer, Hello Kitty, Enchanted, Harry Potter and that is just in the last 5 years. Mom and I always get a kick out of ordering a cake designed for a 6 year old’s party for me and it has become one of my favorite traditions. But as I mentioned before, it is a little embarrassing especially if you don’t know the whole tradition story, but since my friends are always out of town on my birthday and my family already knows I am crazy, it’s not a big deal.

I said all that to say: this year’s birthday was fanfreakingtastic! We had so much going on that I didn’t give much thought to my birthday theme and joked that I would probably do a Twilight themed party for fun. They don’t have any Twilight themed birthday merchandise yet, apparently vegetarian vampires are not all the rage at 8 year old’s bashes this year. So I joked about writing one of my favorite lines from the movie on my cake but didn’t think that I would actually do it. Then my high-larious husband showed me how he wrapped my birthday present and I decided that it had to be done…for the sake of the theme!!

img_4085

That’s right he wrapped my present (a Wii Fit!!!) in Edward posters. That is true love right there, write it down.  He wouldn’t show me my gift until the morning of my birthday and I rolled on the floor laughing. Then I got to work on my cake:

img_4074

Three layers of red velvet cake with cream cheese icing and a Twilight quote on top. Best. Cake. Ever. And I made it, so I didn’t even have to deal with judgment from the bakery girl at Brookshires.

It was the best birthday! Sadly, I am 24 now.

In separate news: I got a present for highschol graduation!! When I graduated high school, my Aunt Carolyn wanted to have a tshirt quilt made for me with my favorite tshirts to have at college. I reluctantly handed over all my favorite tshirts to her to be cut up. And just five and a half years later, I got the quilt!!!!

img_40921

I am just teasing Aunt Carolyn. They lead me to believe that I was never going to get my quilt because the tshirts had been destroyed on accident. There were a million things that went wrong hence the 5 year wait time, but it is absolutely amazing and I love it so much!! I can’t wait to embarrass my children by showing this to them and singing all the songs that go with the SMAK tshirts!

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy Birthday, Spider Monkey!

  1. Nana says:

    Sorry you had to bake your own Birthday cake but since it was your idea I guess it was O.K. You don’t know how much I wanted to give you the Quilt the minute we got it. I think Aunt Carolyn was afraid I would. Now I am glad I didn’t because it was great to see your face when you opened it.
    Love you, Nana

  2. Kristyn says:

    Happy Belated Birthday!! I love the theme!! I just finished the last book of the series 2 days ago! 🙂

  3. JiJi says:

    It was a wonderful birthday party and you were as excited and surprised as anyone I’ve ever seen. Being with you and your family is always great fun. Thanks for letting us crash it! Love you, Your fav MIL and FIL

  4. Stumbled upon your page. First off, Happy Birthday. Secondly, your header is great – reminds me of my days living in London.

  5. T-Nutts says:

    I am so jealous of that quilt! And you aunt sounds like she’s on my timeline. You’ll get a painting of your dogs in 4.5 years.

Leave a Reply

