Recap.

We’ve been gone from Texas for a week now and I still haven’t posted much about it. I have started to a hundred times and I stop. I am having a problem that I have never had before: I have no words. When I think over the three weeks that we spent at home starting with the first hug and ending with the last, I get teary eyed and blubbery. So I am not going to try and come up with words but instead just to tell you some of my favorite random parts.

Seeing Dad, Honey, Jake, Tyler, Reece and Blair for the first time in 6 months.

Eating at Nana’s. From the moment we walked in it was if no time had passed.

WalMart. Enough said.

Getting to see Reece play a basketball game and seeing his smile when he made a basket!

The Village! We got to go to our church every weekend that we were here and it felt like coming home as much as seeing our family. (We still love Jesus while we are in London, we just love our church!)

Getting to meet little Jacob who was born this summer. He is too cute for words, and Becca and Michael are making the parent thing look so easy!

After church dinner with Tawny, Cooper, Becca, Michael and Jacob at La Hacienda ranch for our first wonderful Texas fajitas and margaritas. Lots of laughing and catching up!

Talking about London with Mom’s fourth graders and having a whole new respect for my elementary teachers.

Running the 5k with Dad and beating the man in the wheelchair!

Making cookies and going shopping with Blair.

My strangely themed birthday party. More coming on this.

Christmas and all that entails!

Driving in the country with Mike with my feet on the dashboard singing country songs on the radio.

Playing ImagineIf at Holly Lake with the Cokers, and finding it funny that Ben and I almost always had the same answer! Oh, and sorry John.

Shopping in Northpark like I have never shopped before! How I have missed you Park of the North.

Silver Fox steak with Ben and Jeanne. We closed down the restaurant, met the manager, laughed until our sides hurt and ate the BEST STEAK EVER.

Breakfast with Nana and Honey at Roy’s and waiting on Honey (and me) to finish that last cup of coffee!

Spending time with Jake, hanging out, watching tv and singing grossly inappropriate songs on the radio to the chagrin of our parents.

Taking the kids to Chilis and Brahms, giving them caffiene and sugar and then dropping them off!

Trivial Pursuit. Girls’ Team Rules!!! (any comments to the contrary will be deleted by administrator. If you would like to correct me, get your own blog.)

Those are just a few things from the myriad of moments that will stick with us. Thanks everyone for a great trip and all that you did for us. I will get some pictures up soon!

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Recap.

  1. Dad says:

    Girls team rules my #!!”/~\/#)!!!!!!! Love you.
    DAD

  2. Jeanne says:

    I’m still not over the your leaving, so what do I do? Tear the house totally apart. Change everything. Remodel. Spend thousands. Just so I won’t have time to think about your not being here.

    The contractor, carpenters, painters, and plumber will all be done on Monday. Nothing looks the same!! I’ve think I may have lost my mind when I move through the house and see boxes stacked everywhere!!! I really could just pack my clothes and the office, have the movers come get the furniture and move to a different house. That’s how extensive this project has been.

    But, when I have a minute amid all this mess and I stop and think about our time spent with you both at Christmas, my heart is warmed by all the precious memories and my spirit is calmed once more. I love and miss you both. JiJi

  3. Nana says:

    You really had a full three weeks. You were probably exhausted when you got home.ha
    We enjoyed every minute of your three weeks.
    Love you, Nana

Leave a Reply

