The Secret

There is a secret. I call it the expat secret, but I think that it applies to all people who live far away from home and their family. Here it is: it is easier not to go home. What??? Gasp!!! What did she say?!?!?! That’s right, it is so much easier not to go home. There is a reason people quit smoking cold turkey and alcoholics don’t try to have just one beer. Right now, my senses are a bit deadened to the things that I miss. I can’t remember what Whataburger tastes like really. I know I like it and it is delicious but I can no longer taste it on my tongue. It is kind of like that about everything because we have worked so hard to establish a life and a home over here that some of the ache does slip away. The edges get fuzzy, if you will. We have a minicab coming to our door in 3 hours but I can’t sleep because I have been so excited about coming home that I can’t stand it. But part of me is absolutely terrified. Because I have to leave again. Because it is going to be a wonderful three weeks with family and friends that will remind me of exactly what we have missed. Then I have to go back to the airport and get my heart ripped out again.

It’s going to be so worth it.

See you soon.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Secret

  1. JiJi1 says:

    Go to bed girl, or not. Hopefully, you can sleep on the plane. We are all as excited (maybe not as excited about the food part) but excited none the less. 15 hours and counting ’til your plane lands in the Lone Star State!! Godspeed.

  2. Lollie says:

    Your joy and trepadation (ok, tried every spelling I could think of and still couldn’t get it right) bring tears to my eyes. Having my children close makes me appreciate what your parents are feeling waiting for you to get here. Jiji is right Godspeed. and “They eyes of Texas can’t wait to be upon you!”

    Yesterday was a balmy 70 degrees today coldness has arrived. Texas weather I love it.

Leave a Reply

