Huh?

My brain has been running ninety to nothing the last few days and it has looked something like this

TEXASONEWEEKMOMDADJAKEFAJITASWHATABURGERNANAHONEYAUNTCAROLYNCHRISTMASSHOPPINGONE WEEKSQUEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

I don’t understand it most of the time either. But since we leave in less than a week, I wanted to clear up what I am afraid is going to be a disappointment for some: we don’t have English accents. Not at all. People always made jokes about the next time we came home and how different we would sound, but alas we did not go down the Gwenneth and Madonna road. It is funny because if you mention an American who has adopted an English accent to most expats over here, they roll their eyes and say something to the effect of, “oh, one of THOSE.” It is not a compliment. I still find y’all a perfectly acceptable word to use in everyday conversation. I do think that some of the Texan in our voices tones down a bit over here but I have no doubt it will be back in full force when the plane touches down. My friends over here didn’t think I had much of an accent until they saw me really tired late one night and now they get a kick out of it.

That said, we have adopted some of the colloquialisms out of necessity. We call it the tube and not the subway because that is what it is over here. I asked a taxi driver to open the trunk the other day and he looked at me like I was crazy, but I didn’t understand. I went over and banged on the trunk and looked at him like “this, you big dummy” and he just said, “oh, the boot, why didn’t you say so?” So for ease we call our apartment our flat, our cell phones our mobiles (but we say it like Americans), order jacket potatoes instead of baked potatoes etc. Mike likes to slip into a bit more Englishy English than I do and he like to mess with me and say “Cheers!” all the time until I whack him in the head and remind him he is from Texas!

So in the past six months (it was six months on Thanksgiving) we have changed quite a bit, mostly for the better I think, but I can promise you we still sound like the same people.

This was basically a filler entry so I could say this:

WE’LL BE HOME IN 6 DAYS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Huh?

  1. Dad says:

    You darn well had better not changed! I better recognize you when you get off that plane girl. Its been 5 months for me. LOL!

  2. JiJi1 says:

    5 1/2 days and counting! Your favorite MIL. Jeanne

  3. Lollie says:

    So, no punk rock hair, piercings, and chains. I am so glad the youngest boy cousin didn’t go for the pink mohawk!

  4. Megan Leftwich says:

    you are precious and i LOVE reading your blog! i’m glad you’re doing well and can’t wait to see you soon! THE HOMEGROUP MISSES YOU DESPERATELY!!! You’ve been gone for 6 months = we haven’t laughed til we cried in 6 months!

Leave a Reply

