Turkey and Pie

Happy Belated Thanksgiving!!

Around Wednesday afternoon, I dissappeared into a maze of pie and pineapple and did not reappear until Thursday at dinner. Being away from Texas at Thanksgiving was hard. We missed everyone so much and it felt weird to be celebrating a holiday that no one else in the country was celebrating. But celebrate we did! Our friends Shawn and Tamara live in Kingston and have a big kitchen and a slingbox (meaning: the guys could watch American football live) and so they gracuiously had around 13 of us over for Thanksgiving dinner. It was great fun and great food and we are really blessed that we got to have a Thanksgiving dinner with wonderful friends!

Andrea and Sarah.

turkey1

PIE!!!!! I ended up with 8 pies. Long story. Stupid UK measurements.

turkey2

Just some of the food. We had WAY too much food, but that just made it better! Yes, the pink dish is mine and full of hot pineapple salad. It was a hit over here too!

turkey31

We all talked about our Thanksgiving traditions and people got a kick out of the fact that my dad deep fries a turkey. Some people had heard of it or had one, and I tried to explain it to the others but I think I confused them more. So they probably think we sit in recliners in the yard holding our guns and deep frying whole poultry that we just ran over in our monster truck. That’s us, Mike and Andrea: reinforcing Texas stereotypes since 2008.

We spent Friday and the entire weekend sprawled out in a mountian of klenex and drinking hot tea. We are both determined to be well by the time that we got to come home! As I knew I would, I missed home WAY more on Friday than I did on Thursday. The day after Thanksgiving is usually my favorite day of the whole year. Period. And NO, we definitely do not spend it shopping! We usually do end up dragging Aunt Carolyn to Walmart for Christmas lights or Diet Coke or some such nonsence, but that is just because we get a kick out of it! We spend the day putting up the Dickens Village and Nana’s Christmas tree and sitting and laughing and eating leftovers while listening to Dad and Jake yell at the Aggies. I like to put on the Kenny G Christmas album (something Mike makes fun of me for- apparently real musicians hate Kenny G, who knew?) and put lights on all the branches and get everything on the tree all by myself. Even though there are usually about 3-5 people watching me do it and not helping. And I wouldn’t have it any other way!!!!

I hope that everyone had a wonderful holiday with friends and family. Love y’all! See you soon.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Turkey and Pie

  1. Nana says:

    I am so glad that you and Mike had a good Thanksgiving. We really did miss you so much. I told Honey that I could not get in the mood to decorate but I did not know why and he said “Well I know”. I will just let you guess. You will not believe it but your mom and I drug Carolyn shopping on Friday. We had fun but not as much as we would have had if you had been with us. I am getting a little decorating done slowly. Can’t wait to see you both.
    Love, Nana

  2. JiJi1 says:

    You were both in our hearts here at Thanksgiving. And like you, I felt all day that something just wasn’t right. IT”S BECAUSE YOU GUYS ARE THERE AND NOT HERE!

    I remember you saying, “It’s more fun talking about moving to London than doing it.” Well, from my point of view (and a lot of others I’m sure); “It’s a lot more fun talking about you guys living in London and all of the adventures you are having, than you actually being GONE and living in London.”

    In other words you are loved and missed more than words on this silly computer can convey. XOXO, Mom p.s. Take care of each other and hope you are feeling better soon!

  3. Dad says:

    Just one little bit of inaccuracy. Jake and I first yelled and then got sick of the Aggies on Thursday night, not Friday this year. It got the misery over a day sooner! Love ya!
    Dad

Leave a Reply

