Danger, Texans!

img_3254

There is a brand new driver on the roads today. You may want to stay home and out of your car for a few days years. We don’t usually put anyone’s birthday up here because I will end up forgetting someone, but what with the impending danger to all of you I thought a warning was in order. Jake is 16!!! The other only child in my family is turning 16 today! I usually get my jollies from embarrassing the heck out of him in public, but I haven’t been able to scream RUN JAKEY WAKEY RUN at any of his football games this year. So I have resorted to the internet.

I am trying to think of a story to tell on him that will embarrass him, although he tells me often that he never reads our blog. I have some pictures I could use, but I am saving those for his prom date or rehearsal dinner. He knows what I am talking about. My mom thought when she had us 8 years apart that we wouldn’t fight. HAHAHA. No one can turn me into a screaming nutjob faster than that kid. As I type this I am looking at the scar on my arm from his fingernail that I got from attacking him after he popped me with a dishtowel. I really wish I could tell you that happened years ago, but I am pretty sure that it has only been months. I like to pretend we fight because we are so different but that’s a lie- we are way too alike. Jake will deny it if you ask him; he think we are night and day. Then he goes back to his room filled with random things in Ziploc bags and takes a shower in a bathtub full of empty shampoo bottles.

Jake and I are at a place in our relationship in which we are painfully honest with each other. Maybe tactless is just another of our shared traits. If I want the truth about what is going on I skip the parents and go right to Jake! I am looking forward to him getting past that stage of thinking that you can use single letters and numbers in place of actual words, but as long as he still sends me messages, I will keep trying to decipher them.

I think that I will save the stories for when I can see his cute little face- 21 days!!! I may even forget to mention how much I really wanted a sister.

Have a great birthday Jakey Wakey. Love you!  ~Sis

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Danger, Texans!

  1. Cindy says:

    Child, you speak the truth. Jake swears that he is the one sporting the scar from that little confrontation. And, here in the good old USA, he is not 16 for 3 more hours!!

  2. Cindy says:

    It is done! As of 4:30 p.m. he is a licensed driver!

  3. Kellie says:

    Well, there goes the neighborhood! I’ll be sure to keep Drake off the streets and remind Kate to be a defensive driver because of all the other yahoos on the road! By the way if Jake had been a girl there would have been way more fights, 8 years would not have been enough!

Leave a Reply

