Honest to Blog.

Everyone has a trait that they would rather no one know about, but sometimes in order to improve, the secret must be told. 

 I am a quitter.

An honest to goodness quitter. Fight or flight? FLIGHT FLIGHT FLIGHT!!!!! I pick quitting and running over dealing with the hard stuff every time. I am trying to work on that in different areas of my life, some serious and deep- living in London. And some are smaller and less significant- running. It is the small that I intend to talk about today.

 I decided that I wanted to start running about a month and a half ago, but I needed motivation and accountability. So I tricked my Dad into promising to run a 5k with me in December under the guise of Christmas tradition and family togetherness. Sucker! We are going to run the White Rock Lake 5k fun run on the weekend after Mike and I get to Texas. I was really excited that he agreed, then I realized that I would actually have to do it. I knew I needed to start running on a very regular basis. I found the program on the internet called Couch to 5kwhich seemed to perfectly describe my situation and I decided to give it a shot. (Full disclosure: I have started this program several times and never made it past week 3 before I quit.) It is a 9 week program that increases your running time a little each week and you train in run/walk intervals. I am already on week five, and the only reason I haven’t put anything about it sooner is because I wanted to give myself plenty of time to quit. See? Quitter.

It was going well and I was enjoying it- shock- but as I ran more and more of the allotted time, I was having severe pain in my ankles. The desire to actually do this came to be in direct conflict with my exercise philosophy: when it hurts, stop. I have never had ankle problems so I wondered what the cause could be. I went to a friend of mine who runs marathons for help. I was hoping she would say that I was just not meant to be a runner and should probably give up. Instead she asked me how old my shoes were. And in a moment when I have never felt more like my father’s daughter, I grudgingly admitted that they were two and a half years old and they were little kids Nikes. I got quite the lecture on needing new running shoes that fit me properly and how running shoes break down and should be replaced frequently. So I hauled my cheap self to John Lewis (department store) and bought me some new Nikes. I was hoping that my ankles would still hurt and I could just sigh in defeat, but darned if I didn’t feel 100% better. Crap- now I am actually going to have to keep doing this!

I said all that not because you care, but because I need to know that someone knows. Virtual accountability if you will. I need to think that someone in Texas will ask me how running is going even if it never happens. I need something to get me out in the cold! So I am back to doing it several times a week though as it gets colder and darker my couch gets comfier and comfier. I just need to think about the real reason that I am doing this: Health? No. Heart? No. Family bonding? No. 5k Tshirt? Definitely.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Honest to Blog.

  1. Kristyn says:

    Way to go!!! I also just started to get into running this past summer! It’s hard. but worth it. You’ll do great on the 5k! and my 2 cents…..drink lots of water in the days leading up!

  2. Hi,

    Make sure that shoes you bought are good ones. You need to go to a speciality running store and they will look at your gait (how you strike the ground) and put you in a pair of shoes that are made for your gait. It makes a HUGE difference. I will go with you if you want.

    Kat

  3. oops…i did not read the whole blog. It sounds like the shoes you bought did the trick! Now go run!

    Kat

  4. Nana says:

    I am going to disagree with you. You are not a quitter.I hope the shoes will be just what the doctor ordered. Nana

  5. Cindy says:

    You scared me – I thought you were going to say that you quit your statistics class!!

  6. Lollie says:

    I thought you were going to discontinue the blog!! As my student’s would say OMG, I nearly panicked.

    If you need running advise remember your cousin Kate is the state cross country champion and missed the state record by 1 second. If she had known in advance she would have shattered it, but that’s the way it goes.

    So do the shoes make it easier??? Maybe it is like the ads say “Gotta be the shoes”, well if shoes are the answer then maybe I would try running, but somehow, I don’t think so.

  7. JiJi1 says:

    Hey Girl, Congratulations on the “stick-to-it” attitude! Since turning 40, almost 19 years ago, the only thing I’ve done is a “donut run” on Saturday morning for the grandkids!!! Ha, Ha!! I gave up it up after much berating from dear ole’ Left Brain, and severe shin splints. I decided I really liked bouncing on the little trampoline better anyway. It’s way easier on the knees.

    Check out this web site for inspiration when you get discouraged: http://www.wearenotjoggers.com/home. FYI – It’s about running, not jogging.

    Counting the days!! XOXO JiJi

  8. Dad says:

    Oh Lord! Does this mean that I actually have to do this now????? Just kidding.

Leave a Reply

