Random

There isn’t much going on over here. It is staying pretty chilly and when I am adequately clothed, I really like it. I blame all the Starbucks red cup o Christmas cheer though. I thought I would share some random tidbits from life.

First, thanks to everyone for the sweet words about Nannie. Everyone has been so nice and supportive. The comments and the emails and the Skype conversations made my day. Love you all.

When I get deep into my routine of life, I forget how beautiful London is. I went running today (more on this later) and instead of doing it around our flat, I went around where I work. I work in a great location, but usually I just hop out of the tube, walk to work and then pop back in the tube when I go home. I was running and some of the things that I passed were breathtaking. I ran past the Victoria and Albert museum which is in a beautiful old building, past a nice park and then past the Christmas and James Bond themed windows of Harrods. They are starting to really bring the Christmas decorations out and it makes it feel so alive!

We went to Sainsburys tonight and I was going to grab a few sets of Christmas lights so we could put up the tree this weekend. (If I had to equate Sainsburys to something in the states, it would be KMart.) One strand of the cheapest 120 little white lights was 17 pounds!!!!!! I have had to drastically alter my self imposed restrictions on what I will willingly spend on things since I moved here, but I don’t think that I can bring myself to spend 17 pounds a box on Christmas lights. We may have a very dark tree this year!! I like to put lights on until the branches are so heavy they sag and after Christmas you just want to throw the whole thing away instead of trying to take them off the tree.

I am a little miffed that my US citizenship doesn’t translate well on movies or the internet. Media companies like to complain about people getting things for free and doing illegal downloads, but they make stuff so freaking hard to get legally that we have no choice. ABC puts Grey’s Anatomy on the internet but they can recognize that my IP address is outside the US and won’t let me watch it. I therefore resort to trolling the internet and watching a blurry screen with Japanese subtitles. I said all that to say, Twilight, the book that caused us to go without groceries for a few days, is now a movie and will be released in the US on November 21 but not in the UK until December 18. This is a great injustice to all mankind womankind. My friends and I will all be scattered about the globe by the time it hits over here, so there is going to be a party. We are kicking the guys out and making chick food, chick drinks and watching the movie downloaded by sublegal means. There will be squealing. There will be pictures. We may make tshirts. Stay tuned.

I have signed up to make pie for Thanksgiving. We are getting together with a bunch of friends to have Thanksgiving dinner and I am the pie queen for the day. There will be chocolate, apple, pecan and pumpkin at the very least- hopefully lemon too. Maybe cookies. Ohh and pumpkin cake sounds good too. I can’t blog when I am hungry. I will probably drag you down my pie journey with me.

That is about all. The flat is a wreck and people are coming over for dinner tomorrow. I am making them the enchiladas from a few weekends ago and hoping that will distract them from the colony of dust bunnies that is threatening to take over.

Have a great weekend!

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Random

  1. JiJi1 says:

    Love reading your blog! It makes my day. Really. Miss you guys so much.

    We are expecting a cold front this afternoon, so we are headed south to San Marcos. (The cold makes my bones hurt!) I plan on doing lots of shopping at our favorite outlet mall. I will think of you and the wonderful times we’ve had on our shopping trips. Truly, Wish You Were Here!!

    Enjoy the movie and Happy Baking!

    Love and Hugs, JiJi

  2. Cindy says:

    Your enchiladas will outscore dust bunnies any time.

Leave a Reply

