Countdowns and Red Cups

redcup1

Forget the election, there is more important news. It is red cup time at Starbucks!!! I love Christmas. Seriously- LOVE. As soon as the first chill hits the air, I am ready for Christmas. You can never have too many Christmas decorations, too many Christmas cookies, too many Christmas lights or too many Starbucks drinks in red Christmas cups. The best Christmas decorations are ones that replace things you already use every day- Santa statue? That’s ok. Santa dishtowel swooping in to heroically replace the old yellow striped dishtowel bringing with it merriment whilst drying dishes? Awesome. That is the beauty of the red cup- it replaces the plain boring white cup just to inject a little Christmas cheer into your day. Try walking down the street in the crisp air sipping a piping hot cup of Christmas blend from a red cup and not being just a little happier than you would have been if it was your regular Fairtrade Estima blend in a white cup. You can’t. They came out on the 5th, as if God knew I needed a pick-me-up. They bring out new holiday flavors every year and I tried a toffee nut (they also have cherry mocha and gingerbread), but seriously if you need a Christmas beverage in your red cup get a peppermint mocha. It tastes like Santa.  

They have already lit the Christmas lights on Oxford and Regent (major shopping district) so that people will say, ” what financial meltdown? look at the twinkle!!! let’s go shopping!” This will be my first Christmas season living anywhere but C-town or Dallas and I am really excited to see a decorated London! There are several Christmas markets and fairs that I want to go to and lots of ice rinks across the city. If any of my London friends would like to go skating- please give me a call. We can reenact Tonya and Nancy drama for the tourists! I have a wonderful husband who would walk through fire for me, but glide on ice for me? Not so much. So needless to say, there will be lots of Christmas posts coming up in the future! We will also be putting the tree up, next weekend because I want to enjoy it for longer than a few weeks. Why?

BECAUSE WE WILL BE IN TEXAS IN ONE MONTH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Whew, that felt so good to say. That is why all my Christmas hubub is starting early this year. (I am usually a purist- no Christmas talk until after Thanksgiving.) However, we leave London bringht and early on the 10th and get to stay until the 31st. I get a huge smile on my face when I think about it. So, one month guys and we will be home sitting around your table making inappropriate remarks and sarcastic comments about everyone we know- what the spirit of Christmas is really all about.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Countdowns and Red Cups

  1. Nana says:

    That sounds wonderful. I hope you will still be in a lot of that Christmas Spirit when you get home because Honey wants me to wait for you to trim the tree. He doesn’t think it will look like Christmas unless you do it.
    Love and Kisses, Nana

  2. pete says:

    does that also mean its time for eggnog starbucks as well?

Leave a Reply

