Winter: 1 Andrea: 0

“I love winter!” That was one of my favorite sentiments in Texas, and I wasn’t kidding. I loved it when it was in the forties in the morning and the low sixties in the afternoon- to me that was winter. I was under the delusion that winter was my favorite season. I love winter clothes like down vests and three quarter length sweaters in wintery colors. You know what those things aren’t? Warm.

 It has been getting colder and colder here and in the last week I have worn a real coat almost every day! I am a fairly hot natured person. In college my roommate and I kept our air on 67 all year around and slept with the fan on high so that the air was so cold it hurt- and it was AWESOME. In high school, I prided myself on never wearing the uniform pants but rocking the sweater/shorts combo 365 days a year. So I really don’t think I am a cold weather weanie. Mike and I have been quite determined to wait until we go back to the states and hit up the after Christmas sales to stock up on better winter clothes and boots, but that is getting harder and harder to do. Because it isn’t even that the temperature is THAT cold. We aren’t in Siberia. It is that we are dependant on our inadequately covered feet to get us everywhere. We walked home from the tube on Tuesday in snow/sleet. In October. London had its first October snow since the 30s. The part that made it worthwhile?  British Parliment was having a marathon session of golbal warming talks.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Winter: 1 Andrea: 0

  1. Cindy says:

    GO BUY BOOTS!!! Both of you! Mom

  2. Nana says:

    Boy, I am glad we were there before the really cold weather hit. You know my feet get cold in September and doesn’t thaw out until at least May of the next year. I hope you get some good warm boots. You probably won’t need them when you get to Texas.
    Love, Nana

  3. Cathy Knauber says:

    Hey…GREAT website! Greg just sent me the link. I met ya’ll at a Christmas party last year and thought you guys were fun! I would love to be in London! I got jealous when Greg was there 2x’s last year. Love the pics! Enjoy!

    Cathy

  4. JiJi1 says:

    Sending warmest Texas wishes and adding cute warm boots, hats, and gloves to the Christmas list! Miss you lots! XOXO Mom

  5. Dad says:

    All I can say is,,,,, Snow in October – C O O L!

  6. Kristyn says:

    We will miss y’all tonight…won’t be the same party without beer man and his girl! 😉

Leave a Reply

