Because You Need This

The best part about people coming to visit is the wonderful goodies they bring you. Wait, the best part is getting to spend time with people you love yeah yeah yeah but seriously… FRITOS!!!!! You really do find substitutes for most things that you can’t get and learn to live without the stuff you can’t get. Once again we are in London, not a third world country- we aren’t hurting for anything. That means that whatever room people have in their suitcases gets to be filled with goodies not necessities! Goodies mean Fritos and Wolf Brand Chili. I think that I am pretty much a city girl. I like public transportation, Starbucks on every corner, delivery at midnight etc. Mike and I also like to think that we have decent taste in food and will try anything; we like goat cheese, hot pots, sushi, pho, alligator- whatever. But all the city girl/ foodie wannabe stuff goes right out the window at the sight of Frito pie. I looooove Frito pie! We served Frito pie at my birthday until I was 22. We may have it again this year. We had Frito Pie but we still had Fritos left over. So we decided to get crazy and make Nana’s chili dip. In case you don’t know, here is the Fritos scale. Eating Fritos is good. Eating Fritos with Ranch dip is better. Eating Fritos with Nana’s chili dip is best. I think half the reason Mike married me was because Nana always makes him chili dip (the other half was, of course, my sparkling personality and witty banter). I also think you need this recipe. 

1 Can Wolf Brand Chili
1 8 oz block of cream cheese
Cheddar Cheese to taste

Combine chili and cream cheese and microwave until warm and stir to combine. Cover with cheddar cheese and microwave until cheese is melted. Put on table. Accept adoration from friends and family members. Buy pants one size bigger.

This is a rough recipe because I had never made it before. Maybe you already know it or think it is your recipe or your Nana’s recipe- no offence is intended. It also helps if you dump the Fritos in a basket lined with a paper towel. Don’t ask me why.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Because You Need This

  1. Lollie says:

    Frito pie, what a delicacy. My mom actually layered it in a casserole dish, used velvetta cheese and we called it a casserole. We liked it with creamed potatoes.
    My other second favorite way to have frito pie is how they used to make it at the concession stands. You split the small frito package down the side crease to make an envelope and ladle in chili, cheese, and onion.
    Friday night football, frito pie, and friends what better way to start a weekend.

  2. Cindy says:

    We think of you and Mike every time we have this!! Love you, Mom

  3. Nana says:

    I am stocking up on chili, cream cheese, grated cheese and fritoes. Can’t wait for you and Mike to come home. I think it was a dream that we were in London. It went so fast it seems we almost never went but I know we did because my legs are still sore.ha I loved it.

Leave a Reply

