The Start of Something Beautiful

When we were at the sketchy counterfeit market last Sunday, I found a pretty plate at a little booth that was selling random crap treasures. I paid three pounds for it and I knew that I would forever remember buying it on Mom, Nana, and Aunt Carolyn’s first trip to London! I love when small things hold such strong memories.

Here is the plate:

I love the lovey couple, the worn gilded edges and the pink and blues in the picture. I have a wall over the shelf in the kitchen that is bare and in need of fun things. So I have decided that I need more plates with gilded edges and lovey couples. Mike’s mom and dad got here this morning and we took them to the same market and I found the random table again! I found two that fit my pattern perfectly.

I also found something that I just couldn’t say no to. It doesn’t fit in perfectly but I couldn’t pass it up.

This is a scene called Mr. Fezziwig’s Ball from A Christmas Carol. I love A Chirstmas Carol and have seen almost every version of the movie and read the book countless times- thank you Mrs. Goodman. It is also the year that Mike was born. Awwww. There are three more in the series and I may have to try and find them.

So I guess I officially have a plate collection. I don’t consider myself a collector or antiquer (?) because I am way to cheap for that. I don’t care who made it or how much it is worth just that it is beautiful and makes me smile. In fact my whole collection so far has cost me less than 15 pounds. Not bad for Andrea!!

So, come to London and we’ll go plate hunting!

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Start of Something Beautiful

  1. Kellie says:

    How fun!

    I guess I’m going to have to dust off my passport and come on over. I love random stuff like that. Looking back on some of the earlier blog, I saw the apron collection. Do the apron’s have special memories?

  2. Andrea says:

    My great grandmother made several of them, one was Mike’s grandmother’s and then a few have been gifts or good finds. I just wish I had a spot to hang them over here but I don’t!

  3. Cindy says:

    How pretty! I hope you guys had prettier weather for the market this week! Mom

  4. Carolyn says:

    Wow! How quickly a new collection was born! Better get Honey started on a plate displayer thingy! You can call it “Pretty Shelf – Part Deux.”

Leave a Reply

