Expensive Heaven on Earth

It has been a while since I discovered this little piece of heaven in London. I stumbled upon it one day by accident and for a moment I thought I was hallucinating. I was killing time in a gourmet food store, Partridges, one day and all of a sudden I saw Pop Tarts out of the corner of my eye. Pop Tarts? They must be a fluke! Then my eyes widened and I saw that there was an entire American section with tons and tons of goodies that are otherwise unavailable over here. Do they know this and charge accordingly? Ohhh yes they do. Behold, some of my findings and their prices (in pounds):

Though we definitely don’t have plans to make any of these things regular purchases, it is nice to know that they are there if we need them. Sometimes you just need a big bowl of maccaroni and cheese. They have cereals, cake mixes, crackers like Wheat Thins, Ranch, grape jelly, BBQ sauce and all kinds of wonderful and very American food! This find has definitely shortened the list of things that we have to beg guests to bring us! So if you are new to London, go to Partridges and you may find something to get you through the days when you just wanna go home!!

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Expensive Heaven on Earth

  1. Chris says:

    What….no Velveeta?

  2. Nana says:

    Well I guess I can leave the Rotel home but I will definitely bring the Velveeta.

  3. JiJi1 says:

    Ok, don’t laugh. Okay laugh.

    I have a friend who asked me to bring her back (from our excitely anticipated trip to you) 5 cans of Heinz Spotted Dick Sponge Pudding. Yes, really.

    Well, last week on a shopping trip to Kroger I thought I’ll just check and see if they have it here. This particular Kroger has a kosher, chinese, mexican, indian, english aisle. Lo and behold, they had it! $5.99 for Heinz Spotted Dick Sponge Pudding.

    Don’t waste your money purchasing any of it over there. I understand it’s an acquired taste!

    p.s. What brand of BBQ sauce do I need to bring? Sounds like you’ve got the Velvetta/Ro*tel covered. And, I’m still worried about you both having sour cream withdrawal!

  4. Dad says:

    Okay now, has the needs list changed any? Thats almost 14 bucks for a jar of Jiff! Makes me think the brits like looking at it more than eating it.

  5. Jennifer Smith Cantu says:

    You should feel fortunate, you can’t even get Rotel in New York City. Glad I moved.

Leave a Reply

