Scary Story

Have any of you heard of the Twilight book series? It is all over the internets right now and the first movie is coming out in the fall. I was in the airport on Friday loitering in the bookstore before my flight, and I saw the first book on the shelf. I didn’t have much to read on the flight and the train ride so I decided to give it a shot and bought the first book. I finished it that night and bought the rest of the books (there’s only four) when we got back home. I can’t stop reading them, even though I am pretty sure that they were intended for 14 year old girls. It is so embarrassing though. The books are about…vampires. Sheesh, I know. Pathetic. I am not proud of it but I just can’t stop. I have never been into scifi-y books, minus the deep love that I hold for all things Harry Potter, so I didn’t know what to expect.

Quick Backstory: I tend be easily affected and to take things very seriously and personally. I always have been, and when I was younger my parents rightly kept me from many things because they knew how sensitive I was. Things that I see, watch or read tend to permeate many areas of my life and play with my dreams, senses and feelings in general. I have continued to be careful about what I watch by staying very clear of scary movies, disturbing images and all things over the top. I didn’t even realize that I was breaking some of my own rules when I started reading this series.

Last night Mike was working late and I was alone reading my book. It was about 9 and I had the tv on for background noise. There was a loud knock at the door. I lost it. I knew it wasn’t Mike or anyone else that I know. I decided to be quiet and just not answer. The knocking wouldn’t stop. Someone was sticking his hand in our mail slot to bang it up and down to make a lot of noise. I grabbed my phone and called Mike. I was huddled in the corner terrified. Mike was trying to calm me down but the knocking wouldn’t stop. I saw a shadow cross the windows and then cross back to the door and keep knocking and banging the door slot. Mike stayed on the phone with me until the knocking stopped and I was about one more knock away from calling the police. He said he would come straight home. My heart was beating out of my chest and I wondered how I would make it until he got home. The whole time I was desperately trying to discern who would be at the door at this hour. All I could think of was vampires. It had to be one, there was no other option. Logic be darned, there was a vampire at my door and my husband was not home to protect me! I sat perfectly still with the tv muted for a good five minutes waiting for it to come back and get me.

Then my stomach growled and I remembered I hadn’t had supper because we wouldn’t have any food until the grocery delivery came sometime after 9… Crap.

I sent the Tesco man away because I thought he was a vampire.

That was silly too, vampires don’t knock.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Scary Story

  1. Cindy says:

    I don’t know whether to laugh or cry – so I am doing both! Hey, Mike, you know how you always tease me for “protecting” Andrea so much???? Well, now you know! And your punishment for mocking me is that you get no dinner! =)

  2. Carole says:

    Priceless.

  3. Carolyn says:

    Two days later . . . I’m still laughing!

  4. T-Nutts says:

    I love it!
    Do I need to read these books?

  5. JiJi1 says:

    First rule when home alone. Never be quite when someone knocks at the door. Say who’s there? If you don’t want to answer the door tell them you are on the phone long distance and can’t answer the door or that you are Baptist and don’t want their tracts. (Do they have Jehovah Witness and Mormons in London?) At least that’s what the police dept here tells us to do. Here if no one answers the knock the vampire/bad guys break in Richardson because they think no one is home!

    Love and prayers, Annie Oakley and arsenal

  6. Lollie says:

    Add garlic to your order from the grocer.

Leave a Reply

