Sorry I scared you.

I am sorry about the last post. Apparently, it was confusing. So I want to clear a few things up. First off, in no way was it written to discourage anyone from coming, but I do want people to be prepared. I have been to New York several times and each time, we just hail a cab that takes us to our hotel. Super simple and usually around 40 bucks because they have laws to keep the cabs from overchargging you on trips to and from the airport. I didn’t want people to just blindly haila cab expecting it to stay in that same money range. London is much more spread out than Manhattan and so it will take longer and the conversion rate is not in your favor (but it is a little better- go dollar!!!) I know all the tube directions sounded like jibberish but it isn’t hard. I have done the subway in New York and DC and I am here to tell you London is the easiest system I have ever navigated. So Dad, you might not even have to kick the wall on your way to see us!!! I think coming in on the tube is easy because I travel with this guy, his name is Mike, and he takes both our suitcases and gets up the stairs while I am panting behind him with my carry on. But let me say this very clearly. Please listen. If you cannot carry everything that you pack up a flight of stairs, DO NOT TAKE THE TUBE OR THE HEATHROW EXPRESS. You can’t leave a load at the top and then run back and get the rest. That only works in Disney World. If you are travelling as a couple and the big strong man can comfortably take the suitcases and the dainty lady can manage the carry ons (or the other way around- we won’t judge), that is fine too, but just make sure that there is a way you can get it all up in one fell swoop. I am not trying to be bossy or rude I just don’t want anyone to get hurt or have their stuff stolen. Like I said before, Mike and/or I will try to meet you at the airport if you take the tube so we can help navigate and carry. That won’t always be a possibility because of work, and many flights that come from Dallas will land here in the early morning and the tube doesn’t run 24 hours a day so we wouldn’t have time to get there before you were already on your way! I hope that cleared up some of the confusion and you are still as excited to come see us as we are to get to have you.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sorry I scared you.

  1. Nana says:

    I am glad you cleared that up. I was beginning to think I had better pack in a paper bag like Nanny & Granddad use to do-Just kidding. I just hope the girls know what they are doing because I am a good follower. Honey is already telling me that I don’t need a bunch of shoes etc. See you soon.
    Love You, Nana

  2. Cindy says:

    Like you could possibly scare me off of coming for our visit! Tube, cab, or afoot – we will make it there! Love you, Mom

  3. Dad says:

    Hey now, no family secrets on this blog. LOL. You don’t want people to think I am some sort of aggie. Oh wait, I am! You don’t have to meet us at the airport. Ol Dad will get us there! Ha! Love you.
    Dad

  4. Carolyn says:

    Have no fear, dear! Postmen have nothing on your mom, Nana and me when it comes to visiting you! Neither rain, nor sleet, nor snow . . . nor tube, nor cab, nor subway, nor bad public transport experience in Istanbul can keep us from landing on your front door step! I’ve printed your instructions and they are already packed in my carryon! Can’t wait to see you and Mike!!!

Leave a Reply

