Geese be with you.

I am not an only child. I have a little brother but he is eight years younger than me. So when I take those birth order personality tests- I am an only child. I was perfectly happy playing by myself when I was little. But apparently, I didn’t like eating by myself.  One morning when I was three (I think) Honey came over with something for me. He made me a big white wooden goose on a green stand that would sit at the table with me. (My mom likes white ducks/geese and has always had them in the kitchen so when you think of it that way, it isn’t so random.) I named him Mr. Badgley and Honey made him for me so that I would never have to eat alone again. I loved him and he always sits by my chair. He still sits at my parents table.

A few weeks ago, my mom sent me an email saying that I would be getting a package from her soon. I was very excited but due to Her Royal Majesty’s package service, I have been playing hide and seek with the package for about 3 weeks. I was so frustrated! Mom kept giving me hints and was very excited. I was excited too, but my expectations were modest. I was expecting a jar of JIF, maybe a picture or magazine and random Texas themed foods or something to that effect. What I got was so much better. It finally came today and the box was huge but flat and I was confused. And I had no idea what it was, but when I opened it I started crying. It is the perfect gift. We have our very own Mrs. Badgley at our table next to my chair right where she belongs.

Now I never have to eat alone again.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Geese be with you.

  1. Nana says:

    Mrs Bagley looks great by your chair. I am sorry it took so long to get her but now you have a friend to eat with when your sweetie works late.
    Love you, Nana

  2. Cindy says:

    She is so beautiful – I knew she would be! But in the interest of not making people think we were bad parents, we did eat with you at mealtime. But you were quite a slow eater (probably because you hummed the entire time you ate!) and we could finish our dinner, clean the kitchen, do the laundry and various other chores while still being in the same vicinity with you! So you weren’t exactly neglected!! Love you, Mom

  3. T-Nutts says:

    That is the cutest thing I have ever heard. I’m going to go cry now.

  4. Carolyn says:

    She’s so pretty! Are those eyelashes I see?!? So glad she made it there safely!

Leave a Reply

