It’s So Beautiful

 

Isn’t she pretty? This is the same thing as TJ Maxx but for some reason the J is a K over here. Back in the states TJ Maxx was my least visited of the Discount Heaven Trifecta (Marshalls, Ross and TJ Maxx) because we didn’t have one near us and I could get to the other two during my lunch hour.  It is pretty much the same everything as TJ Maxx, great clothes, accessories, shoes and housewares. The one I went to was three stories and glorious. I browsed in the clothes for a bit because they do have some of the best deals I have seen in London. But yesterday’s visit was all about the home goods. I am in a serious decorating crisis, please pray. Our flat is a little bland for me. The walls are beige; the floors are light wood; the trim is white; the curtians were beige; and our furniture is neutral/khaki. We have some bits of color in our stuff to try and liven it up but everything is so close together that stuff was clashing and I am not yet happy with the look of it all. We begged our landlord to paint one wall of our main room and were told not only no, but h-e-double hockey sticks no. I cried. We have dealt with the window issue (more on that later) but I still need a more cohesive decor. I thinks I am going a little more romantic and muted with the color scheme than the bold colors I gravitated to in the past. Fighting all these freaking soothing tones was making me very unsoothed so I went in search for furnishings. I left TK Maxx with two silk pillows, a tray for the coffee table and a lamp for £36!!!! I was quite proud of myself until I realized that I had to carry two silk pillows, a coffee table tray and a lamp to the tube, two different tube lines, multiple escalators and staircases and them the 5 minute walk home. But the result is worth it! There is still some work that needs to be done before I can feel good enough to post pictures but it’s coming along. So in short, I do enjoy walking around Harrods, but it didn’t hold a candle to my Maxx experience yesterday!

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s So Beautiful

  1. Cindy says:

    YEA! Another tourist attraction to visit in October! Now that is my kind of sightseeing. Love you, Mom

Leave a Reply

