So You Wanna Come to London: A Primer

As fall approaches, the time is drawing nearer to our first round of company. We are so excited about all the people that are going to be visiting. We are anticipating lots of long talks at our table over pasta, walks along the Thames (pronounced Tems like Tim’s not Tames like James), and discovering and rediscovering London with some of our favorite people. Along with the people already on the calendar, we have high hopes that we will get to play host home to many other people during our stay in cheery ol’ London. Basically, if we know you at all or know someone really well that knows you really well who will vouch for you, we welcome you with open arms and an inflated Aero bed. So in the celebration and anticipation of guests, I decided to write a Guide to London. This isn’t really a guide for regular Joe traveler but for regular Joe traveler who plans on staying with Mike and Andrea, however some of the info would probably be good for anyone who will be journeying over here. This series will be several different posts regarding different topics: subway system, sightseeing, food, money exchange, cell phone issues etc. If you have any questions that you would like answered please leave a comment and I will get the answer into one of the posts or email you directly if it is personal. I am going to start off today with some basic tips.

1.    Please don’t buy and wear one of those nude colored passport neck hanging things or hidden money belt fanny pack. We will pretend we don’t know you. This is London not Uzbekistan.
2.    On the flip side, there is no need to tempt fate and wear your biggest jewels, unless you have tea with the queen scheduled. Insurance is tricky once a foreign country is involved and it is just easier not to. I have even started wearing just my wedding ring without my engagement ring and we both feel better. I am not saying not to wear any jewelry, this just might not be the time to wear great-Grandma Rose’s ruby ring.
3.    We are working with very limited space and if you expect lots of private time and personal space, I can give you the number to a good hotel.
4.    We do have a “hot water on demand water heater” which means we can all take showers without dying of hypothermia!
5.    We have a hair dryer, curling iron, and a straightener, hand soap, body wash, basic shampoo and conditioner and we would love to share them with you. Or at least please stick to small bottles. We have the smallest bathroom known to man.
6.    Mike and I both have laptops that you can use to check your email and all that fun stuff. If you need to bring your own that is fine, but we don’t have an office area or a desk.
7.    On adapters. Bring as many as you need. We have a few but they all have pretty much full-time jobs like keeping our computers and toothbrush charged. I am going to go into more detail later about adapters v. converters and what you need for what, but I just wanted to go ahead and put this out there.
8.    Please call/email us before you buy a plane ticket. We would hate for someone to spend all that money and then we have to tell them that someone else is already coming or we are going to be gone.
9.    As of the end of September, we will have two adorable pups sharing the flat with us. They are wonderful but boisterous. There isn’t a way that they can be kept in one room because that would be cruel, so if you have dog issues, it would be good to call a therapist/allergist before you book the tickets.
10.    We charge a one-time fee of one block of Velveeta per person. This is non-negotiable.

More to come soon!

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to So You Wanna Come to London: A Primer

  1. Nana says:

    Thanks for all the info. Velveeta is on the way. Love Nana

  2. cindy says:

    Good to know! I am not sure that onslaught and excited are expressing the same feelings!! But I know I can’t wait! Love you, Mom

  3. Carole says:

    I ate at TaMolly’s tonight. I am sorry.

    BTW, loved the UZ comment. 😉

  4. Chris says:

    Right. Will gladly bring TONS of Velveeta in order for a place to sleep for a few nights. I’ve already started a “Let’s Go to London” savings account. For any interested parties out there, I’ve got dibs on a few days in either June, July or August of 2009. I’ll even bring American doggie treats!

  5. Suzanne says:

    You said the Velveeta is non-negotiable…I bet it is non-refundable, too! lol

  6. Carolyn says:

    Thanks so much for the primer!!! Duly noted . . . I’ll not bring my “hidden pouch” nor will I bring my jewels! Remember to send us a list of things you do want us to bring! I cannot wait to visit you and your London home! Love you!

  7. Deanna says:

    All I have to say is… I wanna come!! Eric and I have always wanted to go to Europe (or, I have, and therefore he will…) so now’s the perfect time to do it! Hopefully sometime next year.

    Anyway, I hope all is well with you two! I miss you tons!

Leave a Reply

