Grrrrr…MOOOO…Grrr

So when we first came here, Mike decided that we didn’t need to eat beef. What with the mad cow scares and everything, he decided that it was a chance that we shouldn’t take. Then we moved 5,000 miles away from Whataburger and he changed his mind pretty quickly. He decided that beef was fine, but he had left his poor wife permanently terrified. He would order beef tacos and I would order pork and tell him that someone had to be there to take care of him when he turned into an angry cow. But man, I need a hamburger. Friday, Mike came when I got off work and took me to lunch. There is a chain all over called Gourmet Burger Kitchen and I researched it online. They offer beef from 100% grass fed animals..organic…bla bla bla. So I decided that I would do it.  It was a cute place with super cute ketchup dispensers:

On a side note: Mike and I have been really into olives lately. We sampled some great ones at the market and have been eating them at restaurants. Here are is our apetiser.

So I got a classic hamburger and fries. Just mayo because the only way you are getting good mustard over here is if you whip a bottle of French’s out of your purse.

So. I ate my first British hamburger. Actually, half of it. I had heard that British beef tastes different and many of the Americans that I have talked to said that they never ate it because they just didn’t like it. I think that I am in their camp. There was nothing wrong with it, no weird flavors or spices. It just didn’t taste like I think beef should taste. There are plenty of other choices around here and I think that I will probably not eat much beef. But since I only ate half my burger, maybe I’ll just turn into half a mad cow. I wonder which half?

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Grrrrr…MOOOO…Grrr

  1. Chris says:

    I wouldn’t care if the hamburgers tasted like a dead parrot pining for the fiords…..you. are. eating. it. in. ENGLAND! A place where I have wanted to visit my ENTIRE LIFE. England…land of all the important cultural aspects of life e.g. Shakespeare, Monty Python, and Dr. Who. Greetings from across the pond. I was just informed Saturday of your site by B. and J. at the family reunion. I’m sending this missive off first and then I plan to sit back and enjoy all of your previous entries to catch up on your lives. Wish I was there and I’ll be in touch. Or you could send me an email if it wouldn’t be too much of a ‘spot of bother’ (see, I could get on swimmingly with all the British lingo I’m hip to utilizing. Brilliant!)

  2. Suzanne says:

    I think it means you’ll only be half as mad as you could have been!

  3. John says:

    Probably the cows rear.

  4. Cindy says:

    Glad you tried it but sorry you didn’t like it. You are probably safer that way ,- but you know how I do love a good hamburger. A little worried about your choice of appetizers! Mom

  5. David G. says:

    Even with the prevalance of BSE (mad cow) in England, the one place it has not been found is in the Grass Fed Herds. So no worries about becoming a mad human from a grass fed burger.

    As for the taste, you need to start with a quality animal to get a quality taste. Most grass fed producers use a lower quality animal and it is reflected in the taste.

    You can visit me at http://www.shepherdsranchangusbeef.com to find out more on quality grass fed beef.

    And yes, biscuits and gravy are out of the question in England unless you get a care package from home. If you can make your way towards Holy Loch Scotland, the fish and chips there are worth the trip, not to mention the scenery.

  6. Holly says:

    Yes…amazing how your veiws change when you move out of the states. There is one of these in our neighborhood…to others we like are (1) All Bar One and (2) Ground The Burger Store. We can recommend!

  7. Lollie says:

    The comments show your readership is expanding. Glad adding new people doesn’t take away any of my enjoyment.

  8. Dad says:

    Honey, that’s the ugliest hamburger bun I have ever seen! Are you sure the wheat hasn’t gone mad?

Leave a Reply

