Where’s My Stinkin’ Honeymoon, London?

2 Month Update

Before we moved we had two days of intercultural training at Mike’s office. We learned about the cultural shock cycle. It has 4 stages: honeymoon, crisis, recovery and then adjustment, and then the cycle repeats when you return home. So my question is, where’s my stinkin’ honeymoon? I don’t know about you, but our real honeymoon had hot water, nice people and iced tea. So we were the lucky ones who got to skip that pesky honeymoon stage and go right to crisis. It was a really rough time for a while nothing horrible happened but it was incredibly lonely. I didn’t write a one month update because I was too busy trying to decide how mad Mike would be if I accidentally missed my flight back to London. I also try to keep this a pretty honest but still upbeat blog and I didn’t want to bum everyone out! In the last month though I feel that I can safely say that we are past crisis and into recovery.

This past month, we have felt so blessed. We have found wonderful restaurants that are inexpensive and yet taste a little like home. Mike is staying busy with work and says he is learning to love the city. I have found a job that I enjoy and friends that are in the same situation that I am. Our flat is really feeling like home and I think it is pretty cute. We are trying to go and do some tourist things on the weekends, and have plans to visit some places like Bath, Brighton and Canterbury fairly soon. It feels good to get out and enjoy the city. (London isn’t the enemy. London isn’t the enemy. Say it with me.) We are very excited about having guests this fall! Looking forward to that goes a long way in making me feel better when I get down.

We joke a lot about how much we miss Whataburger, fajitas and Ranch dip, but I would give them all up forever to beam us back to Nana and Honey’s table or into a big hug with Tyler, Reece and Blair.  Sometimes I don’t answer emails or call very often because it is easier not to. But we miss you all so much and anxiously await our next hug! So please keep us in your prayers. We have high hopes of moving into the adjustment phase soon! We love all your comments on here, your emails and your skype calls. Never hesitate to contact either of us for anything ever.

So after two of the longest and hardest most emotionally challenging months of our lives, we just might make it over here after all.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Where’s My Stinkin’ Honeymoon, London?

  1. JiJi1 says:

    “Oooooh. kaaaaay.” She says, wiping tears away. I’m really sad now.

    I’ve been really busy the last two weeks, crusing to Mexico, home for 3 days to get Po to Drs. appts. then a 4 day trip to Galveston. I’ve had no time to really stop and think about how much I miss you guys. But, of course the first thing I did upon arriving home is to check the blog. I love you guys, and miss your sweet faces, smiles, voices and all that other stuff soooo much. XOXOXOXOXOX mom

  2. Suzanne says:

    Andrea,
    Just wanted to say “hi”, and to tell you(hopefully without making you sad)how cute Tyler & Reece were tonight in the S.M.A.K. musical at church! They had a small part during a song where Tyler was the prophet Samuel looking at Jesse’s son to crown a king, and Reece was David, the little shepherd boy. Tyler put a royal robe around his shoulders, and a crown on his head(that was almost too big…it was funny). Wish I would have had a pic of that…it was the cutest part of the musical! Hopefully their Daddy took some pics.
    Keep up the good work on the blogs. I was bragging to your Mom tonight about how I look forward to them.
    Love ya

  3. Cindy says:

    It is not nice to make your mother cry.

  4. Beth Cooper says:

    I feel your pain! My husband got a great job with Barclaycard in Northampton. We lived there for three and a half years. I got comfortable with village life, and my son loved the school. Then we moved back to Texas. But a year later, we’re back in Manchester, while my husband does contract work. I can tell you that once you adjust, you’ll have very fond memories, make wonderful friends, and England will feel like a second home that you can’t wait to get back to.

  5. Holly says:

    Trust me when I say that the acclimation is about a 90 day window. This is the fourth country we have lived in and it has been the same no matter if it was Seoull, Taipei, Dusseldorf, or London. There are always new things to learn, new adjustments to make, and it just takes time. The best thing you can do is what you are doing…stay busy, explore your new city, and get out of the flat! Before you know it, you are acclimated and have a hard time even remembering the adjustment period. If you do, you can honestly just laugh. Hang in there….

Leave a Reply

