Whatabrinner

Brinner = Breakfast for Dinner

In Dallas, Mike and I had a semi-tradition. Since we went to church on Saturday nights we had Sunday mornings free, and if we could drag ourselves out of bed before 10:30, we went to Whataburger to get taquitos for breakfast. We would sit and talk and read the paper for a while (at least until I had finished my coffee) and it felt almost sinful. We can do all of that here in London except the Whataburger taquitos.

Thursdays are brinner night here. Usually it is pancakes, eggs, and bacon but we have been experimenting with recreating the Whataburger experience. Thursday we made chorizo taquitos for dinner and the were quite tasty. Even though we had chorizo, I would have loved sausage, so if any of you have contacts with a Jimmy Dean black market pass ’em on.

Heating the chorizo!

Eggs cooked in the chorizo-y pan.

Now the piece de resistance: velveeta queso! We decided to put some of our Velveeta and Rotel rations to good use and make a little cheese dip to, how do you say… kick it up a notch. And it was gooood.

Finished product. It is definitely easier to go to Whatagurger, had them a few dollars and have these bad boys delivered right to your table. But if you can’t do that, there are pretty good substitutes! Yes, we had to sell cars, give a way furniture, and store lots of appliances to move here but no one was going to take my set of Texas Rangers cups from me, NO ONE!!

Honestly doing things like this is kinda silly. It’s just a taquito. But on some level, it really helps. I am a tradition stickler (my family is laughing and saying something about that being an huge understatement) and reclaiming some of ours over here makes it seem a lot more like home! So when you come visit, come by on a Thursday and you jsut might get to have some Whatabriner of your own.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Whatabrinner

  1. Cindy says:

    We must be on the same wave length. Just before reading this entry I fixed bacon and egg taquitos – my version of brinner! It was really good. Love you, Mom

  2. Nana says:

    That looks really good. Can’t wait to eat a Whatabrinner. I love the fact that you are tradition minded which also reminds me that I hope you get home in time to decorate my Christmas tree.ha I can’t imagine what it will look like if I have to decorate it and I don’t think your little brother is interested. Love you, Nnan

Leave a Reply

