Workin’ Girl! (Not that kind)

Well, ladies and gentleman, I have finally gotten a job! I am the new office manager at the American Women’s Club. I can’t even explain the joy and hope that the whole situation has brought me. Just joining the club has been a blessing. I joined last week and went by the office to give them a check and made a joke about how hard it was to find a job here and they asked if I wanted to work there. I had an interview yesterday morning and they made a quick decision and I started training today! Thank you for all of your prayers; there is no way that this would have happened without them and the wonderful blessings of the Lord. Getting to meet and talk to other women who are going/have gone through the same thing is so comforting. Saying, “my husband’s job sent us to to live a few years in London” doesn’t exactly elicit sympathy from people. It is nice to know that other women think that this is hard too. I only work every day from 10-2 so I will have plenty of time for other things as well. This past month and a half I have been at home, I have really enjoyed parts of the being a housewife thing. Not the soul crushing mind numbing loneliness but I do like making Mike’s breakfast and lunch and seeing him off to work (I always left before him in Dallas), having breakfast on a real plate with a cup of coffee at the table and cooking dinner every night and just getting to spend more time at home. So thanks to everyone for your prayers for me to get a job. This is still a heck of a transition but there is a light at the end of the tunnel!

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Workin’ Girl! (Not that kind)

  1. kristyn says:

    YEAAAAAAA!

  2. Nana says:

    I am so glad for you. Those are the best hours to work. That is the hours I have been working this summer. It is GREAT. You will still have time to have breakfast with your sweetie.

  3. JiJi1 says:

    You Go Girl!!!
    As quoted by Loretta Lynn, (country & western singer in case you didn’t know).”I don’t know what it’s like for a book writer or a doctor or a teacher as they work to get established in their JOBs. But for a singer, you’ve got to continue to grow or else you’re just like last night’s cornbread — stale and dry.” Tear off that pink apron and go get ’em! Congratulations on not becoming stale & dry!!! (Ha! Ha! Like you’d ever slow down long enough. I just thought it was a cute quote!)

    And just so you know, everything Loretta wrote wasn’t about cheating. or losing, or loving her man. Here’s a song from 1968. That’s not half bad for a girl born in Butcher Hollow, Kentucky!

    I’ve Got Texas on My Heart

    I’m packin’ up my old suitcases
    To go see old familiar faces
    Give me blue skies
    And sunny Texas weather.

    I crave the smell of good ole saddle leather
    I’ve got Texas in my heart
    I’ve got a lotta friends in Amarrilo
    I like Dallas, Forth Worth, Houston, San Antone.

    Got a pinin’ in my heart to be in Texas
    I’ve said I’ll wind up makin’ it my home
    I’m packin’ up my old suitcases
    To go see old familiar faces.

    The Lone Star State
    Has won my heart doggone it
    And long horn steak with lots of ketchup on it
    I’ve got Texas in my heart.

    — Instrumental —

    I love the western way they grab in Texas
    Where that Lone Star hat is mighty plain
    You can bet your boots and saddle, I love Texas
    Gonna hang and to go back there again.

    I’m packin’ up my old suitcases
    To go see old familiar faces
    Give me blue skies and sunny Texas weather
    I crave the smell of good old saddle leather
    I’ve got Texas in my heart.

    (The eyes of Texas are upon you)
    I’ve got Texas in my heart…

    But, here in Texas we got London and you in our hearts. Can’t wait for October. Look forward to see more news. Love to you both. XOXOXOXOX

  4. Kelli Lowe says:

    Hooray! 🙂

  5. T-Nutts says:

    That’s like the most perfect job ever. 10 – 2. Awesome.
    And I’m SO glad you get to talk with the ladies. What a wonderful blessing! I am so happy for you. Does that mean you get to start answering the phones again? Because that is my favorite part of your job.

  6. Cindy says:

    God is good – all the time.

  7. John Coker says:

    Bout time you got a job! Haha!

Leave a Reply

