Trash, Enchiladas and Friends

So there hasn’t been much going on for us this week. I have been busy taking naps in the afternoon and then lying to Mike and telling him that of course I am not taking naps. We finally got an outside trashcan and we have lived here over a month! This wasn’t our fault, but our council. It is the standard issue model and really nothing special, but it will save us from waiting until dark and sneaking, ninja style, to dump our trash into the dumpster of the restaurant across the street.

We are going to go out for Mexican food with some folks from Mike’s work for the 4th of July at Wahaca. We aren’t sure how to celebrate this holiday seeing as it is celebrating our independence from the people all around us.  There is a fine line between joyous celebrating and getting spit in your enchilada.

I am also going up to the American Women in London Club tomorrow to finish processing my application so I should be able to start doing things with them very soon. I am really hopeful that this will lead to some friends. The whole finding a job thing is still not going very well so at least this will get me out of the apartment more and actually meeting people!

We will take pictures on Friday so that I can show you what the 4th of July looks like from the motherland.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Trash, Enchiladas and Friends

  1. Cindy says:

    Yea!! I am glad you are going to the club meeting. I know you will make lots of new friends. Enjoy your Mexican food dinner.

  2. Carolyn says:

    Hey! Forget pictures of the 4th of July . . . I want to see pictures of American Ninjas in London sneaking their rubbish to the dumpster!

    The perfect job is just waiting for you to get other things settled first . . . house, naptime, sightseeing, naptime, shopping at Harrod’s, etc.

    And regarding friends, someone told me that the friends they made in London years ago have been lifetime friends. So, choose wisely!

    It was so good to be with you last weekend. Can’t wait till October!!!

  3. JiJi1 says:

    Can’t wait to hear the review of Wahaca!! I have images of ya’ll sneaking, trash in hand, in the dark, flip flops, rats, and slime. Accurate?

    Reminds me of a story of me and Nanny in Channelview, Texas looking for boxes behind a Walgreen’s (they always have clean boxes) prior to a move. Picture this: a dumpster, darkness, a single light shining in the distance, and when we slid the door of the dumpster open a cloud of TEXAS SIZE tiger mosquitoes swarmed us. Me and Nanny running for cover to the suburban. Needless to say the mosquitoes WON! Can’t help but laugh at that!

    Think of me when you bite into that taco! My spirit is willing but my tummy is still weak! It didn’t like custard pie last night, so I don’t dare try anything daring on the cruise to Mexico next week! XOXOXOXOX

    p.s. We’re celebrating July 4th at Lone Star Park. Horseraces, Hot Dogs, and Fire Works what could be more Texan!!!

Leave a Reply

