Small Changes

The following post was written with absolutely no research. Just observations. It could be totally wrong. If the mangling of facts for my own amusement bothers you, please read another website. Carry on.

One of the things that I have found so strange in London is watching which Americanized things find their way into UK culture and noticing the things that have not. It is the strangest thing.

American Shows that play constantly: Jerry Springer, 3rd Rock from the Sun, Frasier, and Newlyweds: Nick and Jessica ( I don’t have the heart to ruin the end of that show for everyone!)

Seriously, that is what you choose from the myriad of programs the the US produces each year? I like Frasier; that old guy in the recliner makes me laugh in every episode. But come on England, what’s a girl gotta do to get some 30 Rock reruns on the tv?

In homes, they too enjoy big windows, hardwood floors and nice appliances but not separate dryers, closets, big refrigerators, or outlets in the bathroom.

In groceries we have found Hellman’s Mayonnaise, and Doritos, but not applesauce, Lipton Tea, or grape jelly!

There are many US based fast food chains that are all over but Burger King is far more prevalent than McDonalds and there is a KFC on every corner. For all the KFCs and Pizza Huts though, I would commit a felony to get a Taco Bell gordita and there isn’t one to be found!

The weirdest thing is size in general. Part of it isn’t just that we are Americans but Texans. We pride ourselves on our huge state, half-ton trucks, giant houses, Sam’s club, sprawling malls, Whole pound burgers, and supersized lives. Here, everything is just. so. tiny. I have never felt taller in my life. It isn’t even that I definitely prefer one over the other, both have their merits and both are a product of circumstances. London doesn’t have room for a SuperWalmart and a 100 sqft grocery store would surely fail in Dallas. So I guess we will have to get used to tiny bags of flour and little bitty cars until we move back and buy great big steaks at Costco, take them home in our SUV and grill them in our huge backyard!

Since I haven’t done much London-y type stuff lately, just boring moving stuff I have decided that tomorrow I am going to Harrods! It should be fun!

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Small Changes

  1. Nana says:

    Sounds like you won’t be watching much TV. It is getting pretty sad around here too. Not much to watch. America’s got talent is on again but there will never be another Terry Fator. I know you are glad to get your furniture so you can get everything in order.
    Love you, Nana

  2. Cindy says:

    You can’t beat 3rd Rock from the Sun!! The rest I could do without. Sounds like you have found your mother-ship – a country where you feel tall. Have fun at Harrod’s. It is certainly on my list of tourist attractions to visit! Love you, Mom

  3. Dad says:

    I sure would like to comment on you being TALLER. But my comments would simply pale in comparison. See you soon.
    Love you,
    DAD

  4. K. Lowe says:

    So, let us know if you want us to send you some shows or something. I noticed that when I was in Europe several years ago. The TV shows are SO far behind. Have you noticed that the fast food tastes just a little different over there?

  5. Elizabeth says:

    I stumbled onto your blog this afternoon and found this post SO fascinating! No grape jelly and Nick & Jessica reruns? I’d have a problem. 🙂

Leave a Reply

