Cookies a la London

Now that I have my lovely kitchen items returned to me. I have cooking to do!! I am so excited that I have planned a menu that we will eat this week in order to maximize the grocery budget as well as use up the plethora of groceries that we have from last week’s delightful delivery. On tap this week, M:lamb cheeseburgers, T: BBQ chicken baked potatoes, W: chicken soup, T: pancakes, bacon and eggs, F: eggplant lasagna. We’ll see how it goes. I reserve the right not to cook any of these things or change them at will. I just thought that telling you might make me actually cook them. However, when I tried this before we moved, it worked splendidly and I may have to jump firmly on the menu planning bandwagon. This wholesome food is all fine but, I needed something wonderful to christen the new kitchen. Cookies. Must make cookies.

I had my first Nutella experience in Romania. I was in high school on a mission trip and the family that we stayed with had two options for breakfast, Nutella with fresh bakery bread or no breakfast. We opted for the chocolate treat every morning. I never bought it again back in the states because it just didn’t seem right. It was European junk food and I had enough stateside vices. So on our first grocery trip in London, I bought my old favorite. I was in Europe after all; and I was in serious need of some chocolate. Now that we have my glorious pink mixing bowls back it was time to put that Nutella to good use. It was cookie time.

The recipe is from Small Batch Baking by Debby Maugans Nakos and it is now Mike’s favorite cookie. The cookies are crumbly and delicious. For my Cookies a la London I subbed half the peanut butter for Nutella. Here is the recipe: (this is double the recipe in the book- that one only makes 8 cookies!)

Cookies A La London

2/3 Cup plus 1 tbsp AP flour
2 Pinches of baking soda
2 Pinches of salt
6 tbsp. sugar
2 tbsp brown sugar
4 tbsp butter (room temp)
1 large egg
1/2 tsp vanilla
2/3 cup peanut butter (or 1/3 cup Nutella and 1/3 cup peanut butter for cookies a la London)

Mix flour, soda, and salt in small bowl.

Beat sugars and butter with mixer then add vanilla. Add peanut butter (or peanut butter/Nutella)

Slowly mix in flour mixture.

Wrap in plastic wrap and chill for 30 Mins

Spoon out cookies on baking sheet and bake at 325F for approx. 13 mins.

Try to wait until they cool to eat them all.

I think that I prefer them with all peanut butter, but there is definitely something to be said about the Nutella-ey goodness in cookie form. Please try them; you won’t be dissapointed!

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cookies a la London

  1. mom2fur says:

    My daughter would go nuts over these–she really likes Nutella. They look really good!

  2. Rachel says:

    Oh golly, I never eat Nutella except by the spoonfull…I love that stuff. Probably why I don’t buy it. (I have family in Germany and was introduced to it by them!) I’m afraid if I buy some for the recipe that I would just eat it all by the spoonful anyway…
    :o) Rachel

  3. CC says:

    Yum! I love cookies with PeanutButter!

Leave a Reply

