The best thing so far.

My life is forever changed. Today I got stocked up on all the basics from the grocery store. We live about a five minute walk from a full grocery store, which is not a long walk really, but it is a long walk with plastic bags cutting in to your fingers. So I now have a fully stocked pantry, and guess how many groceries I carried home? Zero. Guess how long it took me to walk all the aisles at Sainsbury. Zero. Behold the wonder of grocery delivery:

Oh yes. A nice man in a big truck came and dropped this off today. I selected all the groceries from their website, picked a delivery time and voila! groceries aplenty. There was only a £2.50 delivery charge. So next time all of you are schlepping through the Super Wal-Mart and your buggie is doing that weird “won’t go to the right wobbly wheel thing” you could be me, ordering groceries while watching reruns of Gilmore Girls on DVD. Yep, I don’t want you to be jealous of the museums and the culture we are surrounded with, that’s kid stuff- it’s all about the grocery delivery.

There is a downside to this happy little tale. I don’t know the exact conversation that took place regarding our groceries, but there was one. I think it went something like this:

Frank: Ok, Phil, next order is for Coker
Phil: Blimey! I knew some Cokers from Surrey. Tiny little things they was too.
Frank: Whatcha mean tiny? Short or like scary tiny?
Phil: Like scary tiny, mate. About the size of wee garden gnomes I would imagine.
Frank: It doesn’t say they need the gnome sized groceries but maybe they just forgot to check that box.
Phil: Well mighten we oughta give them the gnome sized groceries anyways? I’d hate to think of what a real sized bag of flour would do to the little things.
Frank: Good point. Better safe than squashed, I always say.

Something like that had to have happened. How else do you explain this:

That is the giant bag of flour that I ordered. Damn metric system.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The best thing so far.

  1. T-Nutts says:

    Freakin’ hilarious!

  2. Carole says:

    Will this help? 250 grams is a cup.

    My first year overseas I bought a kilo (2 pounds) of any and everything.

    I’d go to the fruit stand and end up with 10 pounds to carry home.

    I LOVE SAINSBURY’S!

    And I LOVE your blog.

    Are you interested in f/t work? Email me your resume. We have an office in London.

    -carole

  3. Clarissa says:

    You cheated!!! You missed the entire experience I prepared you for. You would have been bagging those groceries and everyone would been so impressed that an American knew they had to bag their own groceries. But if you want to be the ugly American…

  4. Clarissa says:

    You cheated!!! You didn’t take part in the experience I prepared you for. They would have been so impressed to see an American bagging their own groceries. But if you want to be the ugly American… 🙂

  5. Clarissa says:

    Ooops!! I am obviously technically challenged. OR it’s because the freaking AARP is sending people a recorded call about Medicare and then connecting them to our office! We have to tell them why they are calling. Don’t you wish you were here?

  6. Nana says:

    Well I am glad you finally got some groceries. The sack of flour should last you quite a while or do you plan to do a lot of baking? I love your comments. You are really going back in time because years ago Fullerton Grocery Store use to deliver groceries. I never did have any delivered but I know a few people that did.
    Love you bunches, Nana

  7. lollie says:

    I need to know the metric conversion of how big that bag of flour is. I always love examples of “when will I ever need this stuff” for math class. And on another note, that bag of flour would last me approximately two years. What grocery items are missing from the shelves of London? I see the most essential Diet Coke is there, how about Diet Dr. Pepper?
    Love your attitude and greatly enjoy this blog.
    When you are a teacher with the summer off, living vicariously is wonderful.
    Lollie

  8. Carolyn says:

    WOW!!! Y’all have big Diet Cokes in London!!! Seriously, I’m calling Brookshire’s tomorrow and signing up for grocery delivery! How cool is that?!? In my mind, Frank and Phil are the thieves in 101 Dalmatians! Learning about London through your mind’s eye is going to be a great adventure! See you in a couple of weeks!
    Love you bunches!

  9. John Coker says:

    wish i was there for some home cookin!

  10. Ozzie says:

    Hilarious!

Leave a Reply

