The Good, The Bad and The Ugly

We went in search of some Texas food this weekend. Mike got reports on the best Tex-Mex place to go from some fellow expat Texans in his office and we have passed a BBQ place in a close neighborhood that is always packed and smells so good that we wanted to try it too. I would love to tell you that we were instantly transported back to Dallas by both of these restaurants but they were a bit hit and miss.

We went to Cafe Pacifico and Bodean’s BBQ.

The good the bad and the ugly.

The Good: The atmosphere of both places was warm and welcoming. The smell of the Mexican food lifted my spirits as soon as we walked in. The food there could have tasted like total crap but I may have gone back just to smell it. The food wasn’t bad at all. I had enchiladas and Mike had a chimichanga and both were perfectly fine. The guacamole was a pleasent suprise and the rice and beans were on par with any regular Mexican food place. In the BBQ place, I had a pulled pork sandwich and Mike had a half order of ribs. Both were melt in your mouth excellent. The BBQ sauce was thick and sweet/spicy just the way I like it. Even the coleslaw was tolerable and so this is definitely a place that we will be frequenting!

The Bad: At Cafe Pacifico I asked the waitress for sour cream sauce on my enchiladas and she said, “what?” It was downhill from there. My chicken enchilada was good but the chicken was just boiled shredded chicken put into a tortilla, not the spicy concoction that I am used to. It wasn’t that anything was bad, we just kept thinking that they simply didn’t get it. The chips and salsa were more like an afterthought (I would liken it to salted Doritos and Pace), and there was a wedge of orange as garnish on my plate. Orange?? What the heck do I want with an orange wedge? I asked for some extra lime and I might as well have asked for a side of crawfish gumbo with my enchilada from the look I got. We left full and happy but it wasn’t quite the magic we were hoping for. As for Bodean’s, the onion rings were more Sonic than Humbert’s and due to the creator’s origin, the focus was on pork rather than beef, but very little was bad at all.

The Ugly: No Tea. Either place. Not Sweetened. Not unsweetened. NOTHING. I know perfectly well not to ask for iced tea at a pub or any regular English restaurant over here. I am not the stupid Anerican who thinks that they should have everything I want in a different culture. However, if you open an American themed BBQ place, hang longhorn skulls on the wall, and serve southern American food you at least need to be able to rustle up a pitcher of sweet tea. All credibility is lost with me.

We had a good weekend roaming the Portabello Market in Knotting Hill on Saturday morning and then went to a church Sunday morning. Great news! Our furniture will be delivered on Friday!!!! More details to come on some of our incoming goodies this week!

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Good, The Bad and The Ugly

  1. John Coker says:

    Tyler says we had iced tea at the country club pool today. Sorry! You’re tour bus ride sounded awesome! Glad y’all called today!!

  2. Nana says:

    Sorry you don’t have any iced tea but when you come home I will fill you up with your favorite peach tea or if you have changed to sweet or unsweetened you will get it. I know you are having fun. It sounds like you have it all under control.
    See you soon.
    Love, Nana

  3. JiJi1 says:

    I’ve been reading about this place. Hope it’s in your neighborhood. Still no iced tea though. Love and XOXOXOXOX Mom http://www.texasembassy.com/default.htm

Leave a Reply

