Saw it in the City

A few quick facts before I launch into the body of this post.

  1. This is not a movie review blog nor will it turn into one.
  2.  I have terrible taste in movies (I have never seen To Kill A Mockingbird but have seen Enchanted 6 times).
  3. Much to the dismay and shock of the public, Sex and the City the Movie had its world premire in London not the show’s beloved Manhattan.
  4. Sex and the City was a great/terrible show that was not at all morally sound or virtous but the shoes are so pretty. I assumed that the shoes in the movie would be equally as pretty.
  5. I was REALLY tired of sitting alone in the apartment yesterday.
  6. If you don’t want to know some spoilers, stop reading.

So I put on an obnoxious pink and red dress and headed down to the theatre. Not any theatre though. The same theatre that the world premire was held in a few weeks ago. The pink carpet has long been rolled up, but it was still surreal. The show was 95% women, and it seemed mostly tourists (I am including myself in that). But I had fun, especially compared to sitting on my air mattress and checking my email.

The movie itself was exactly what I expected. I knew the main plot points going in, because they have been all over the internet. The shoes were fablous. The dresses made my heart leap. The bags made me drool. But the real estate/decorating was the unsung fashion hero of the movie. Charlotte’s perfect 6 in her preppy classy decorating, Samantha’s California beach house, and Carrie’s apartment redo that made me want to paint every wall I see a beautiful blue, made the movie sparkle even more. 

The plot was thin, but did anyone really expect anything else? Charlotte was still optimistic though her charachter seemed a bit more dumbed down than usual. I read on one review, “why did they turn Charlotte into this show’s Joey Tribbiani?” It fits. Everyone loves Joey though, and I thourgholy loved Charlotte. Miranda was neurotic as usual. Samantha was sex crazed and slutty as usual. Carrie was hopelessly in love with Mr. Big and lost without him.  Compared to the show there was very little bed-hopping because the finale of the show had all the girls in relationships that they were still in when the movie began.  By the end, three of the relationships were still intact and one was over.  There were mostly happy endings with a Cinderella like twist. As pure fluff chick flicks go, it was as glitzy and glittery as one could ever hope for and for that I was glad.

When I left the movie though I had mixed feelings. On one hand, I wanted to go shopping and redecorate but on the other I felt so sad. Sad because of all the impressionable people (myself included) that see how the movie dealt with relationships and think that it is right. Sad that the beautiful clothes and shoes will make them want that life and the befiefs that accompany it. All the promiscuioness didn’t really bother me because I think that is more a symptom of the problem rather than the heart of it. Every relationship issue was thought about and solved by putting themselves first. Samantha was breaking up with her boyfriend of 5 years and just told him, “I love you but I love myself more.” And that was all the reason she had, and it just struck me as so wrong even though they weren’t married I couldn’t help but relate it back to my marriage. If you get up every day and decide to love you first and spouse second, you are either going to breakup or be very very unhappy . This isn’t to say that the best person can’t be incredibly selfish and unloving at times but there is a difference in how you view your relationship because it will affect your day to day actions. I didn’t mean to get preachy there but the movie just made my heart hurt a little. I know people rush out to emulate the fashions they see on the screens (note to self: ask landlord about painting the walls blue) but I hope that we all forget the message and focus on the Manolos.

 It was exactly the movie I expected, and you know I like getting what I expect. I have always been easily affected by movies and things that I see, so it is no wonder I can’t stop analyzing it. But go see it for yourself and let me know what you think? Am I being too sensitive? Probably.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Saw it in the City

  1. Carol B. says:

    Andrea,
    Carolyn gave me your blog address and I have enjoyed reading your comments. I fell in love with England many years ago when I spent a couple of weeks there. It has been refreshing to see it again through your eyes. My best days there were spent in walking the back streets and going into some of the “second hand” little shops. I hope they are still there and you discover them. Exploring is such fun in London!

    I love your Sex and the City critique. I’m glad to see you could see beyond the glitz (and shoes and color blue) and grab some real meaning, especially concerning marriage.

    You have a gift for writing, and make me laugh. Enjoy your time in England!

    Carol B.

  2. Cindy says:

    Love your comments. Still don’t know if I can go and see the movie. Comfortable shoes and clothes are much more appealing to me these days. You have incredible insight. Mom

  3. Carolyn says:

    Okay, a copy of To Kill A Mockingbird will be waiting for you when you get here in a couple of weeks! 🙂 And maybe, just maybe, we can catch SATC at a matinee?!? We’ll talk! 🙂

Leave a Reply

