All By Mys-e-elf.

It is Tuesday at 2 in the afternoon as I type this and I am about to do something for the first time. I am leaving the apartment to go do things all alone. I have many irrational fears and this has been one of them. Yesterday I had to wait for the boiler guy and the air freight (yes, we have hot water and clothes!!!!!!!!! and temporary internet through our cell phones!) so I didn’t have to face this fear. I also put it off for darn long enough today. I have been showered for hours and telling myself to just go already. Sometimes when I am walking and I get scared (this usually occurs walking back from the bathroom in the middle of the night) I freak myself out and just start running. If I can aviod not doing that in the middle of the streets of London then I will consider this outing a huge success. I put on the best I can come up with for London-y clothes. I have a white t with skinny jeans, flats and a short trench coat. My hair is all crazywavy insane in a way that would drive my mother nuts. But I think that it will fit in because I am going to a pretty young area. No big jewelry or big purses. I was going to wear red lipstick because it makes me happy. But if they find my body, I don’t want them thinking I was asking for it. (this will be much funnier when I am safely back home, trust me) So I am off and will not return home without a pot and stuff for dinner (ok and Starbucks). Wish me luck.

****UPDATE***** I am back safe and sound from my shopping trip! I have groceries and a pot! The trip was really energizing, or maybe it was the Starbucks. It was good to get out of the house and it rained on me the whole way home so I really feel like I live in London now! Thanks for worrying.

 

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to All By Mys-e-elf.

  1. Kristyn says:

    I know this is obvious…but it’s weird to be reading this post here when it’s Tuesday, but 9:45 in the morning! Anyways, so glad y’all have HOT water! I’m sure you’ll do great out there on the streets of London! But give us a post when you get back, just so we know how it goes!!!

  2. Cindy says:

    So glad to hear you had a great outing. I wasn’t worried one little bit. =) Love you, Mom

  3. Nana says:

    I am glad you made it home safe. You know we will always worry about you even though we know you are a very responsible young lady.
    The pups are great. They are enjoying their new home. It sure does keep me on my toes but I love it.
    Love you, Nana

  4. JiJi1 says:

    I’m so proud of you!!! You did it!!! You conquered your irrational fear of exploring alone. (forgive my spelling…. I’m blaming it on the loss of blood and the pain medicine). Just remember id and money in front pocket.

    I know exactly how you feel. Ben goes to bed at 8 p.m. and I roam the streets of New York alone at midnight just to experience the excitement. Don’t you dare do this (go out alone at night)!!! There were people shoulder to shoulder in NY and no one could tell I was alone. And when we were in Canada it took me hours to get the courage to explore the subways and city by myself. Of course it was to see the Bata Shoe Museum.

    So glad you made it home safely too!!! You’re a smart girl. I know it won’t be the last trip to Starbucks! Or maybe Handel House, former home of George Frideric Handel. He lived there when we wrote Messiah, which really makes my head spin. So much musical history right there where so close to you. Don’t miss any of it! Love, hugs and prayers JiJi

  5. John Coker says:

    What was for supper? Exploring is FUN!!

Leave a Reply

