The Hardest Goodbye

I said goodbye to something today. It hurt. It really hurt. What was that hard goodbye?

It was always you Target. It was always you. Yes, WalMart and I had a pretty serious thing going when I was younger but it was just that you and I were still doing the long distance thing and WalMart was open really late and it was a small town. You know that you were the one who really held my heart. Mom and I would always make you our last stop when we were in Dallas, we were just getting to know you and you were really coming into your own. Then, it happened: I moved to Dallas. Our long-distance relationship was ignited and we were closer than ever. I had my small ghetto Target off Carrier and 20 and on the weekends, Richardson with the Super Targets that dot every exit.

We have had good times, remember that pink blazer, Hannahbelle’s puppy bed, my shabby chic room redo, purses, shoes and uncountable numbers of tank tops. Then you really stepped up your game. Go International lines brought designer names that I couldn’t even pronounce but desperately wanted into my life and after that you and I were tighter than ever. You remember my purchases that I make with my debit card and so I can throw receipts away with abandon and you will still take it back. Even when Mike came into our lives, you made room for him and now we think that fajitas and Target is a great Saturday night.

Like every close relationship, we have had our bumpy spots too. You went through a shimmer phase totally ruining cute clothes with threads of glitter more suited for a teenager or a hooker and since I am neither it was really hard time for us. Sometimes you think that 20% off is a clearance. It isn’t. You always hire total morons who are never any help. You close ridiculously early.

So today, I walked around you for a while. I bought too much. I said goodbye. I am sure I’ll be back to see you but we both know that it won’t be the same. There will be other people who love you and I am sure that there is a store in London that will accept my love and devotion. But you were my first mega store love. It’ll be hard but I know we will make it.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Hardest Goodbye

  1. Cindy says:

    Well, I can’t leave this wonderful blog entry “uncommented” – it is just too good! You really are so funny in your writing. I visited Target in your honor yesterday and it is sad too. I promise a trip there first thing when you arrive home for Kristen’s wedding. I hope the plumber arrived and you have hot showers and you are getting used to everything else over there. Everyone here asks about you all the time and they are so pleased for you both. Have fun and keep a journal!! Not just a web one – a real one too. You won’t regret it. Love you oodles and gobs, Mom

Leave a Reply

