If Paula Deen Made Spaghetti

This isn’t Paula’s recipe, but I feel that she would approve. I found the recipe one day on a food blog that I love to read, Orangette. If you are Italian, please stop reading now or my recipe will deeply offend you. For it is spaghetti and tomato sauce with nary a drop of olive oil in sight. Shudder, wince, then make it and have your life changed

All You Need:
5 tbsp butter
1 large can whole tomatoes
1 yellow (or white) onion
Garlic (optional)
1 box spaghetti

Cut up the tomatoes then pour them and all the juice in the can into a skillet.

Peel and quarter an onion and place the quarters in the skillet layers down.

Sprinkle as much garlic as you want on it

Cut butter into chunks and put in skillet.

Just simmer for 45 minutes stirring occasionally. I use the back of the spoon to much the tomatoes.

Then cut up the onions and caramelize them to top the spaghetti.

Pour over spaghetti. Weep from the buttery goodness of it all.

For those of you having doubts, because of all the butter.
1. Tomatoes have lots of antioxidants and can undo the damage of the butter.
2. If you were eating at an Italian restaurant, you would have consumed at least that much slathered on your bread before your food arrives.
3. Running back and forth to stir for 45 minutes burns millions of calories.

This will be a frequent meal once we are in London during the first month before Mike gets paid! 🙂 So I just thought I’d share one of our favorites with you.

About fishandchipsandsalsa

This is the story of a newlywed-ish couple in Dallas about to pack up their lives and pups to move to jolly ol' England. They will miss good family, good friends and good fajitas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to If Paula Deen Made Spaghetti

  1. ruizbe82 says:

    Hello! So quick question: do you remove the onions from the sauce, cut them up and put them in a new pan to caramelize? Or …?

  2. ruizbe82 says:

    PS: Orangette’s blog is great!! Wow, she has so many good recipes on there! Thanks for linking it!

  3. mom2fur says:

    Actually, I often add a dab of butter (or should I say ‘buttah’) to my pasta! Somehow, it makes it richer and creamier. So I don’t think you’re too far off. And if the food police stop by, you can call me as a character witness.

  4. Nana says:

    Thanks for the recipe. I think I will enjoy this one because I love tomatoes

Leave a Reply

